Official Roblox Dialogue System and Dialogue Editor Beta

Official Roblox Dialogue System and Dialogue Editor Beta

Greetings, developers. Let’s talk. For a while now, Roblox has had a C++ oriented dialogue system. It’s not great. It’s very brittle, slow, uncustomizable and linear. I don’t like it. You probably don’t like it. It’s just not great. So, why am I mentioning this? Well, as part of my work here at Roblox this Summer as an intern, I was assigned to create a new dialogue system implemented in Lua. We decided not to use C++ because, well, it’s not necessary. The new system works in both normal games and in Experimental Mode games. It comes with a fancy editor. In fact, why don’t we just talk about the features?

Features of the new Dialogue System

• Support for normal mode and Experimental Mode
  • Allows non-linear conversations, such as looping backwards in the conversation to a previous dialogue node
  • Allows conditional flow in conversations, giving you the power to script functions that determine the availability of responses
  • Implements a way for NPCs to have different responses based on different conditions, allowing them to greet you differently or say different things
  • Has a system to dynamically replace text in the dialogue by utilizing a table of DynamicTextFunctions (which you can write your own functions for). Now NPCs can greet you by name!
  • Each dialogue node can execute arbitrary code upon being encountered, such as giving you a tool or powerup, or teleporting you somewhere else for a fee
  • Each dialogue node can store arbitrary data which is passed into DynamicTextFunctions, actions, and conditions, allowing you to customize behavior
  • Has an abstract interface, allowing you to customize the look and behavior of the client-side however you like
  • Comes with a default interface, redesigning a classic Roblox look and allowing you to jump start projects